My space is mine

As a person with an anxiety disorder, I greatly value my personal space.  Meeting new people is hard for me.  Often times dealing with people I already know is hard for me.  I have learned to fake my way through uncomfortable situations for the most part, but sometimes I fail miserably, and I upset someone unintentionally.  It happens.

Here’s the bottom line for me.

I hate hugging.  I hate it.  Absolutely, unequivocally DO NOT LIKE IT.  There is a VERY small group of people I will hug and enjoy hugging, but for the most part, I would like to stab the person in the eye that thought hugging was a good idea.

Here’s what a hug says to me: 
“HI!  I HAVE NO REGARD FOR YOUR PERSONAL SPACE AND DON’T CARE TO ASK IF YOU CARE TO BE INVADED BY ME!!!!”

I think it’s actually a pretty rude gesture.  It makes me better understand why dogs consider such things rude behavior.  Nobody ASKED the dog if they wanted their “bubble” to be burst and a new bubble created with another entity inside it.

A hug is part of the social code in many groups, and so I may go along with it, but I’ll never feel comfortable with it.  I feel assaulted.

It’s not a personal affront to you if I don’t want to hug you.  You don’t smell, I don’t dislike you, and to reiterate it’s not personal.  If you’re a huggy person, that is TOTALLY cool, hug other huggy people.  I am not one of those people.

My space is MY space.  It is not a free for all for people to shove their way into.  End of story.

Flail on,
 – Classical Spazz

 

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

