I’m sorry I didn’t call

When I said I’d call, I really meant it.  I didn’t forget, it wasn’t a case of “I didn’t feel like it”, and I wasn’t blowing you off.  It was that whole anxiety thing again.  If you call me, we are (relatively) cool.  I’ll talk, that’s fine.  I enjoy conversing with people.

But I much prefer conversing with people through email or in person.

Talking on the phone makes me anxious, and unless there is a real emergency, or I have a real appointment, I have a very hard time ending a conversation.  It is awkward and unnatural to me.  Our talks will often be filled with random interruptions and stutter stops.  I don’t like it.  It’s very disjointed.

I also have a hard time hearing and understanding people on the phone sometimes, and do not like to constantly say, “I’m sorry, could you repeat that, please?”

If I sounded like I was making up a lame excuse so I could hang up the phone, you’re probably right.  It is not personal.  I just don’t like long conversations on the phone, and I try to make them as quick as possible.  There are a couple of exceptions, of course (like my mum, because she’s my mum), but in general, I think phone calls suck.

It’s always easier to catch me by text or email.

I don’t hate you, I’m not trying to be rude, but phone calls make me incredibly uncomfortable.  Yes, I will use one in an emergency, that ain’t no thang, but if you’d like to converse with me, could you please just text or email me?  Or, you know…wait until I see you in person?

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on September 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

