From movies to real life

Dear readers, tonight I am going to discuss something difficult, yet highly important.  At least it is important to me.  This foreword is to warn those of you that haven’t seen the following movies that there will be spoilers as to the endings:
Million Dollar Baby
Seven Pounds

 

 

My husband just happened to text me tonight, telling me he had forgotten how depressing the end of the movie “Million Dollar Baby” is.  Having never seen it, I did a quick Wiki to discover that the main character ends up a quadriplegic after a dirty fighter takes a sucker punch, causing her to fall and break her neck when her head hits a stool.  Upon discovery that there is no hope for recovery, she asks her coach to help her die.  He does so, and of course, people who figure that she absolutely MUST triumph at the end of the movie are disheartened, discouraged, and even disgusted.

Seven Pounds (which I also admit I have not seen, as I am all about comedies) has the same ending.  The difference is that instead of being physically disabled, the main character is emotionally disabled.  He feels that he must atone for the seven deaths he caused as he was texting while driving (don’t text and drive, kids).  He decides that his only chance at redemption is to donate his organs to seven different people.  He gets to know seven different people, decides they’re worthy of his gift, and he offs himself in a bathtub of ice water by poisoning himself with a box jelly fish.

My only criticism of the above death is that the jelly fish was his pet.  Who the fuck keeps a jelly fish as a PET!?

Anyway, people were yet again dissatisfied with the ending of such a movie.  When I heard about it, I was moved rather than angry.  I get so fucking tired of seeing movies with happy endings.

Newsflash, people.  Not everybody in life gets a happy ending.

I understand that assisted euthanasia is a tough subject for many, but if I can put my damn dog out of his misery when he is old and suffering, why do I not have the right to do that to myself?  We constantly talk about humane treatment of others.  Even prison inmates that must walk to their deaths are to be killed as humanely as possible.  And I am not allowed to make that choice, or have somebody pass through my pain?

That’s fucked up man.

There are many people that are strong enough to live in their disabled bodies.  They have the fortitude and willpower and desire to see the next day that others just do not share.  Why is that such a problem?  Why must we delude ourselves into thinking that no disabled person EVER is like Maggie?

There will always be triumphant people who are disabled.  People like Stephen Hawking and Oscar Pistorius (I highly suggest you Google Oscar).  But that doesn’t change the fact that they are some HUGE exceptions to the rule.  Some people can surpass the difficulties of their disabilities.  Others cannot, and do not want to.

I have even been chastised a bit, because I do get upset about my disabilities.  People throw positive quotes at me, tell me things will get better and all that powdery stuff.  I’m not suicidal, but such cliche’s don’t inspire me to achieve.  Really, they upset me more than anything, because it bothers me when people put on their rose colored glasses and act like every experience is surmountable.

It’s not true.

I have been getting better in some ways, and worse in others.  I am happy on my good days, and miserable on my bad days.  I am not interested in pep talks and tough love.  I am interested in trying to get people to understand that my disability is not a choice I have.  How I live with that disability is a choice I have (to some degree), and whether or not I WANT to live with that disability is a choice I have.

To the triumphant disabled athletes, teachers, doctors, and all the rest,  you deserve all the praise in the world.

To those of you that admire them, be sure you do not forget and do not judge the fallen.  It is not your place to do so.  Even if you share a disability, nobody’s experience is the same as another person’s.  One paraplegic can be perfectly happy living their life in a wheelchair and going about their business.  Another will not want to live without use of their legs.

And there’s nothing wrong with that.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on August 22, 2012.

One Response to “From movies to real life”

  1. Well said.
    I have always thought it a gift that we can relieve our pets of pain..and wished that it were similarly looked at with people (with rules of course).
    Good days and bad, all part of life, but there are limits to everyone’s tolerance.

Leave a Reply

