Q&A with the Spazz of the day

I wanted to post some questions I am frequently asked while out and about, or by friends who are curious about my condition.  I sincerely encourage ANY of you out there to ask me any questions about TS that you’re curious about.  Don’t be shy 🙂

Q: How long have you had Tourette’s?
A: My whole life, really/  I remember having tics as early as the age of 5 years old, though my mother has mentioned tics were present in me at the age of 3 years old.

Q: How old were you when you were diagnosed?
A: Twenty two years old.  Took ’em long enough

Q: Why did it take so long for a diagnosis?
A: Don’t really know.  The best answer I have for you is “Doctors can be idiots, too”.  When I was young, all of my phonic (vocal) tics and my neck rolling (original motor tic) were declared to be bad habits.

Q: Why don’t you curse?  Don’t people with Tourette’s curse?
A: I do curse, but in general, I do not curse because of my TS.  If I do curse, it is because the tic was triggered by an embarrassing moment or memory, and you won’t hear it because it comes out in a rapid whisper.  My word of choice is “fuck”.

Q: I thought people with Tourette’s had tics all the time.  You look pretty normal to me.  What’s up with that?
A: Truth of the matter is, I am displaying tics almost 100% of the time, but if I am very relaxed, they will be practically imperceptible.  I can also suppress my smaller tics (both phonic and motor) when I need to.

Q: Are you drunk?
A: I am not drunk.  I am having a particularly bad day, and my body is basically telling me “YOU FALL DOWN NOW!”  My constant facial tics also cause dizziness, and, at times, a headache.  This does not help with the “drunken” walking.

Q: Why do you make that noise?
A: Same reason I crinkle my face or flail my arms.  It is partially compulsion and partially my brain telling my body it has to.

Q: What causes Tourette’s?
A: The answer to that is currently unknown

Q: Does everybody with Tourette’s have the same tics you do?
A: No.  Tourette’s as a disease is much like people themselves.  It affects each individual in a unique manner, and in different levels of severity.  The tics of one person are never the same as the tics of another.  It’s quite fascinating at the very core of it.

Here are some starters for you guys.  If you have other questions, please do not hesitate to post in my comments section!  This blog is meant for sharing and teaching.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on August 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

