I didn’t realize

How infrequently I’d been posting lately.  10 days….wow :-/  Totally my bad.  I’ve had a couple of things to write about, but not the time (or energy).  That said, there will be 2-3 posts in the next coming days, as I do have much to share.

Today, however, I thought I could share the news from my first appointment with a doctor since last year (YAY insurance!).

There was a bit of an ordeal in the waiting area, as, much to my dismay and chagrin, the staff was unfamiliar with the proper protocol for someone with a service dog.  It seems they don’t get have any other patients with a service dog.  I have to admit, even though I know SD users aren’t TERRIBLY common, you’d think a doctor’s office would have a patient or two that uses one.

In any case, after being asked for paperwork on him (which does not exist, as there is no certification requirement for service animals in the United States), and if he had any label on him identifying him as a working animal (also not required in the United States), they did check out the ADA brief for businesses, and things were righted (and I got a deserved apology).

I’m pleased with my new doctor, as she was very open to listening to me, and open to referring me wherever I may need to go.  I discussed my desire to pursue pain management options, as well as finding somebody to help me with my anxiety meds.   Also, random, got a script for a new inhaler 😀  I haven’t used one for a long time, but it’s honestly good for me to have one again, especially in the summer months.

I did forget to mention my problems with my weight and circulation, but there’s time for that.  There’s a lot to fix, but it can’t be done all it once (frustrating, but true).

I’m hoping that with the start of all this new care I can move forward with my disability claim.  Sure would do wonders for me.  My life needs to get better somehow, and I think this is a good start.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on February 23, 2012.

Leave a comment