“Can’t” is not a dirty word

I often write about things that bother me, because they bother me for a reason, and I cannot contain my distaste.

Can’t is not a dirty word.  Can’t is not a word that is devoid of truth within certain contexts.  Can’t is not a word that should never be said by anybody, ever.  It is a word that speaks to a person’s (in)abilities, and, while it may not be an applicable word to others within certain contexts, it is an applicable word to that person (thus, it really doesn’t matter what the fuck anybody else thinks).

When somebody asks me to go for a walk, and I say “No, I can’t”, and they retort with “Sure you can!  You’ve got legs!” I really wish they’d stop and think for a minute.  Yes, I do have legs, but thanks to the TS, my legs do not work right.  I am capable of walking “sort of”.  “Sort of” does not equate to being able to take a jovial jaunt about the way.  It means that when I say, “I can’t”, I am serious.  It means I know I’m going to fall, and every step will be a struggle.

Why is it so hard for people to accept somebody saying they CAN’T do something?  It’s not defeatist, it’s not a self fulfilling prophecy, it’s the TRUTH.  Sometimes the truth of the “can’t” is painful, but that doesn’t make it less true, and trying to goad somebody into doing something they really cannot is not helpful, it’s demeaning and humiliating.

Let it the fuck go.

It’s ok to admit that you can’t do something, and it’s ok to acknowledge that somebody else can’t either.

Flail on,
 – Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

