A letter to rude parents: Part 2

Yesterday’s blog involved me being annoyed by rude parents (rude people in general, really).  Today’s blog?  It’s about the awesomeness of parents that educate their children not only on proper etiquette for being around a service dog, but the proper way to treat others.

Dear Awesome Parents,
Thank you very much for explaining to your children that it is not polite to point.  Thank you for not making assumptions about myself and my service dog, and keeping a respectful distance while admiring my dog.  Thank you for complimenting me on my dog’s behavior, and his appearance.  It really did make my day.

You are a very important part of the service dog community, even if you don’t realize it.  By teaching your child that it is ok to ask questions, but not ok to be intrusive, you have made my life, and the life of other handlers easier.  I appreciate that you politely asked, “Excuse me?  May I ask you what your dog is used for?  My child is curious.”  I am happy to explain the use of my dog to you and your child, and I hope that our interaction has enlightened you.

Thank you for correcting your child and preventing from running up to my dog, and preventing injury to myself, my dog, and your child.  It is the responsible thing to do.  Thank you, again, for explaining to your child WHY you do not run up to strange dogs or people, and why my dog in particular cannot be bothered.  The smile I gave you for that courtesy was genuine.

Thank you for stepping aside when I said, “Excuse me, please”, because I needed to sneak through a space and there was no other route for me to choose.  I know it’s a bit of an inconvenience, what with my boy being so big and all.  Thank you for treating my dog as what he is.  Medical equipment that is not to be bothered with.

Thank you, Awesome Parents, for taking charge of your children, and making sure they behave in an appropriate manner.  Really….thank you for just being awesome parents.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 17, 2012.

One Response to “A letter to rude parents: Part 2”

  1. Ventured over via a link from a mutual friend and wanted to say “Preach it!” My own take on all this, from very early in my SD’s career: http://manorofmixedblessings.com/2011/03/14/service-dog-etiquette-for-dog-lovers/

Leave a Reply

