I Am But An Old Dog

Written for Assistance Dog Appreciation Day

I am but an old dog, grizzled, grey and worn
My pads are cracked, I lack teeth to clack, and my legs are really quite sore.

I bore upon my back a harness made especially for me,
And for many years I wore it, with great pride and dignity.

I’ve traveled far and wide, and been on planes, and trains, and buses,
I’ve shared many miles with my dear friend, who truly knows what trust is.

And now I sleep in great repose upon my master’s couch,
For my years of service, loyalty, and love, my reward I do not doubt.

My harness sits now, worn but strong, high upon the shelf,
But soon it will be filled by another, who loves his handler more than himself.

I am but an old dog, grizzled, grey and worn,
But I know I’ll never be forgotten, by the one I’ll forever adore.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

(Go hug an old dog, and appreciate the years of love they have given, service dog or not.  They all deserve the recognition.)

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 13, 2012.

One Response to “I Am But An Old Dog”

  1. There is rarely a greater nobility than of an old, loyal canine.

Leave a Reply

