The support system

When you are disabled, it is important that you have a support system available to you.  A support system beyond your service dog (if you have one).  It is not only important to have a support system for yourself, but to acknowledge that it is in fact there for you.

Strauss is my literal support system when I am out in public, but my husband and my closest friends are absolutely invaluable assets to me.  They do not struggle in the same way that I do, but it doesn’t mean they don’t struggle at all.

They play defense for Strauss, they help me back up when I fall if Strauss isn’t available, they console me when I’ve had a bad day, they endure the comments and stares from ignorant people, just as I do, and they work very hard to accommodate me so I can be social with them.  That involves a lot of sacrifice, and I appreciate it, and try very hard not to feel like I am burdening them.

It takes a special dog to do what my dog does, and it takes a special person to do what my husband does.

He catches me before I fall down the stairs, or helps push me up the stairs.  He helps me out of bed when necessary, or picks me up when I’ve fallen to the floor after getting off the couch.  He makes sure people keep their tongues in check when we’re in public, and does not allow people to disrespect me, or my dog.  He understands why Strauss must go everywhere I go, and explains to his friends why the dog is present if I am present.

And he never complains.

I feel compelled to apologize sometimes, because even though I am not truly a burden to him, it is hard to avoid that feeling sometimes.  It is hard to feel like I am his wife, rather than some invalid child that he must take care of.

He takes care of me because he loves me, not because he is obligated to do so.  He treats me as a strong, stubborn, independent person, because I am one.  He does not treat me like I am broken, even when I feel broken.

I value Straussdog, very much.  But I value my husband, and my overall support system, too, and I hope they all know I appreciate and love them for it.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “The support system”

  1. And he’s hot.

  2. And he’s your Asian! 🙂

Leave a Reply

