Merry Sniffmas

Alright guys, it is 3 days before Christmas, and I have apparently caught the death plague.  Because of this, I am totally hopped up on NyQuil presently, so, if at some point in time I’m making no sense, I apologize.  Consider my doped up type fest my early Christmas present to y’all (that’s right, I grew up in Wisconsin, but thanks to living in Virginia for 15 months, I now say “y’all”).

Strauss has been working harder than ever in the last couple of weeks, because thanks to befriending a new neighbor (who is SO fabulous), I actually have places to go now!  Back in Virginia, I really didn’t have friends, and kennel clubs were just too expensive to train at, so I just stayed home, cleaned house, and waited for my husband to return from Quantico.  Because Strauss really wasn’t working as much as before we moved, some of his training slipped the tiniest bit.  Nothing terrible, but enough to be noticeable by me.

In any case, Ju and I (and thus, by extension, Strauss) went shopping at Giant Eagle for some last minute Christmas noms.  Strauss had a sniff-fest.  He wasn’t being terribly obtrusive or obnoxious, but the constant twitching of his nose and turning of his head was definitely annoying the piss out of me, as I work very hard to make sure he is well behaved and not mucking anything up.

Now, the point of mentioning his nosiness isn’t to point out how “poorly trained” he is, but to remind people (and this includes me) that regardless of how well and thoroughly trained a service dog is, it is STILL a dog.  It is a sentient being capable of making (wrong) choices, and getting distracted.  It doesn’t matter how LONG the dog has been working, sometimes the dog will make a mistake.  And that’s ok, as long as the mistake is corrected and the dog quickly reverts back to task.

Ideally the dog won’t ever make a mistake, but that is unrealistic (bordering on delusional if you actually believe the dog won’t make a boo boo ever).  It is not a robot.  It thinks, it feels, it gets distracted, and it, at times, will disobey.  This is one of the reasons that service dog handlers are SO adamant about people NOT interrupting their dog while it is working.  They ignore so many things throughout the day, and trainers bust their asses to raise the dog’s threshhold to what it can and will ignore, but every dog has a breaking point.

And may God have mercy on your soul if the handler reaches THEIR breaking point before the dog reaches his, because the dog is likely to just try and lick your face.

The handler is likely to try and EAT your face.

I’m not really sure where to go with this from here on out, but now I’m feeling this heavy sort of torpor setting in, so I think I’m going to sign off for the night.

Tell your pets that Classical Spazz wishes them a Merry Sniffmas, and that I hope their furry stockings are filled with bones, and catnip, and love.  To you humans out there, enjoy your holiday, regardless of which one you celebrate (for me, it is Christmas).  While I do plan on blogging over the holiday, in the event I don’t actually do it, I’ll see you all in the new year.

Thank you for following Twitch & Shout.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on December 23, 2011.

One Response to “Merry Sniffmas”

  1. Merry Christmas! Willow misbehaved mightily last night — she slipped through an open door and frolicked throughout the neighbors’ yards, at an annoying top speed. Clearly, we’re not giving her enough exercise. Anyway, she appreciates the Merry Sniffmas wishes, and throws them back at you (slightly chewed). I’m very glad you’re out and about with friends in PA. Now you have to say yins, though, rather than ya’ll. Just sayin….

Leave a Reply

