A trip to the mall? Yes please!

I mentioned in one of my last posts that I have a hard time making new friends, and that I manage to meet people through my service dog.  I have been lucky enough to make friends with the neighbors across the street, who share many similarities with my husband and I (which is always nice, because there’s a lot of common ground to build a foundation on).

Yesterday, Strauss and I got to take a trip to the big mall in Pittsburgh and spend some time with the aforementioned new friends, and it was SO GREAT to be out of the house!  It was nice to be able to be myself, to have my service dog with me, and have other people watching out for him (extra eyes are always appreciated when you’re shopping during the holidays), because I really don’t get to go anywhere very often.  Even with a GPS, I tend to get lost, and then I freak out, and things continue to deteriorate from there.

It was nice to be able to have lunch, and have company, and not be stared at.  It was nice to flail, and have people laugh because the tic is funny, not because they are uncomfortable.  It was nice to have tics just plain ol’ ignored, because they are unimportant in the grand scheme of things.

I don’t generally enjoy shopping, but trips like yesterday?  Amazing.

Strauss worked exceptionally well (and hard), and I’m proud of him.  He’s getting on in years, and, though I hate to admit it, his age is stating to show.  He doesn’t let on about it physically, but I see it in his face, his demeanor, and in the grey whiskers that adorn his muzzle.  But as long as he gets a cookie when we get back to our vehicle, he’s still happy to do his work.

We walked with our friends in and out of Things Remembered, and Aeropostale, and got cornered in a shop by a woman whose son has a service dog for Autism.  We got the kissy noises from the usual ignorant people (and they were told rather curtly to quit bothering my dog, who paid them no heed anyway).

I think the most important thing I got yesterday was not the (unexpected) gifts I received (thank you!), but the long needed companionship I haven’t had since moving away from Wisconsin.  Husband’s are great, of course….but everybody needs their own friends.

And I am grateful for mine.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on December 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

