It is a sad day

When you realize that many of the dreams and career goals you had are realistically unattainable.

It is also a sad day when you realize that you are disabled, but not disabled *enough* to qualify for certain benefits.  You are left in this constant limbo, hoping you will get a worthwhile job, or find yourself in a decent career, when the reality is that most companies do not want and will not hire the disabled.

Yes, there are laws in place to try and protect the disabled from discrimination.  But it is very hard to prove that you weren’t hired (or were fired) due to your disability.  Particularly when a business is receiving hundreds/thousands of applicants.  If there are two candidates available to you who are otherwise equal in credentials, and one is disabled, and the other not, the reality is that the person without the disability will be hired.

Yes, yes, I know, companies get tax breaks and all that other bullshit for hiring the disabled.  But really, when it comes down to it, why would a company want to make more work for itself, and accommodate somebody with “special needs”, when they can just hire the person with no medical issues right out of the gate?

I guess I am feeling bitter and disillusioned, as when I was young, I heard the constant “You can be whatever you want to be when you grow up!” which is, you know…bullshit.  That phrase is always spoken with the best of intentions, and the attempt to encourage a child, but it’s not the truth.

Many will not be smart enough to be lawyers, or doctors, many will completely lack the business sense to run a fortune 500 company, even with all the schooling in place, many will be denied jobs because they cannot see, or walk, or have a mental handicap.  It’s disgusting, and frustrating, and really, I’d just like to continue ranting about it, though it’s not made me feel better. 

Rather, I find myself full of regret, and cynicism, and anger that I am unable to change myself in any meaningful way.  That I am, as a person, generally unhappy with my life circumstances, and try as I might to change them, it always remains exactly the same.

 Flail on,
 – Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on December 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

