I swear I’m not helpless

There are two huge things I dislike about having Tourette’s.

The first thing is that people do not believe me when I tell them I have TS.  The second is how when people discover that I was in fact telling the truth (DUH!) they begin acting like I’m some porcelain cupie doll that must be watched and managed every second.

I.  Am not.  A cupie doll.

I am 26 years old, largely self sufficient when it comes to taking care of myself, and, if I do fall, I WILL NOT BREAK!  For fuck’s sake people, I’m not a baby!  Yes, I know my legs don’t always work right, and yes, I do flail about and could potentially smash my hand through a mirror (seven years bad luck!  shit!), but PLEASE, stop following me around waiting to catch me!

I have adapted how I get around so I can stay OUT of a wheelchair, and care for myself.  If I’m around the house, or in somebody else’s home, I find stable places to lean on and try not to leave them unless I have to.  If I’m in public, I take my service dog.

I appreciate your concern, but I do not appreciate you following me around like I’m an idiot.  I WILL fall sometimes…and you know what?  I’ll get back up!  I know you are trying to be kind, but please do not help me up (or worse, freak out that I fell…I HATE THAT!) unless I ask for help.

Disabled does not be “incapable of caring for oneself”.

If I’m in public and I fall, my service dog is there to help me…that is the service he provides.  Human intervention is unnecessary, and more of a hindrance than a help unless specifically asked for.

So please, PLEASE, in the name of all that is twitchy, just treat me like a person, instead of a possible casualty in my war against my brain.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on October 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

