Don’t talk about yourself that way!

If there’s one thing that pisses me off in the world, it is people telling me what to do.  I don’t like it, never have, and quite frankly, I wish people would just stay out of my face.  What pisses me off even MORE is when people not only tell me what to do, but they tell me how I should (or shouldn’t) refer to myself.

Some people apparently have a problem with me referring to myself as a twitchy, or a darkie, or a spazz.  May I ask what the big deal is?  Maybe some people look on it as self deprecation, but, that is normal amongst humans.  Everybody does it.  For some people, it’s just plain funny, for others, it’s a coping mechanism.  For me it is both.

Would I refer to somebody else as a twitchy, or darkie, or a spazz if I didn’t know them well?  No.  I mean, come on, common sense people…if I don’t know what kind of humor somebody else enjoys, I am not going to go off and (un)intentionally insult them.

I’ve got a gay friend, P, and we have created our own crime fighting partnership.  Rainbow Rotini and the Dark Twitch!  Is that offensive?  Maybe to some people.  We think it’s hilarious.  And how is it any different from black people referring to each other as nigger?  I think that’s some dumbass shit, but if they want to do that, fine, let ’em.  Just don’t be calling me that word and including me in the dumbassery.

Just because I call myself a twitchy, or P calls himself Rainbow Rotini, it doesn’t mean we don’t respect ourselves or each other.  It’s just something we say to describe ourselves.

Lots of things in the world have meaning.  Lots of other things just…are what they are.  Why must everything have a reason?  Why must everything have a negative or positive connotation?  Can’t things ever just be neutral?

Seriously, people…get over yourselves.

Oh, and while you’re at it….

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on August 24, 2011.

One Response to “Don’t talk about yourself that way!”

  1. Personally, I think it takes more respect to call each other “pet names.” I call you Token because I love you, and respect you as a friend. The fact that you happen to be my only black friend earned you that nickname! LOL But really, the fact that I know you take it in the vein intended means I respect you.

    I hope… 😉

Leave a Reply

