So what does a twitch feel like?

I get asked quite often what my twitchies “feel like”, and honestly, I’d never really taken much time to explain it or think about it.  I just said “I dunno”.  But last night I just randomly pulled up a youtube video of one of my favorite songs, “The Scatman” by Scatman John.

The song begins with a lot of scatting on the part of Scatman John, and the first line is “Everyone stutters one way or the other”.

That is what my tics feel like.  They are a full body stutter.  They interrupt my current action, just like a verbal stutter interrupts what a person is trying to say.  It is a mild annoyance, as it is something I’m used to, and isn’t often embarrassing unless I’m in new company.

I do stutter as well sometimes (vocal tic), but that feels more like my thoughts are stuck in this odd mixture of honey and tar.  The words are there, but they don’t come out.  Other times I’ll start a sentence, but I’ll keep repeating a section of it over and over because I’ve actually forgotten what I wanted to say.  I cannot stop myself.

What happens most often is that I’ll want to ask my husband where something is, so I’ll start by saying “Honey, where is the….” and as I’m preparing to ask….I forget what I’m asking for, so my brain kicks into this weird vocal loop where I just say “Where, where, where is the, where is the, where, where….” until the word frees itself from the La Brea tar pits of my brain.

So yes…TS, for me, is like a full body stutter.

Flail on, people, and enjoy The Scatman
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on July 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

