The “You should know!” fallacy

This is going to be a relatively short blog post, if for no other reason than it is 12:30 in the morning, and I need to get to bed.  However, this post involves something I need to address, because it’s something that REALLY sticks in my craw.

There is this stupid idea out there that because I “battle” a disability, that I am supposed to be tolerant of all the other bullshit that goes on in the world, because “You should know!”.  “You should know!” means “You should understand what it’s like to be treated like shit and like you’re an annoyance!”

Ok, dude, I’m a fucking person, like ANYBODY ELSE!  I have LIKES, and DISLIKES!  You know what I REALLY dislike?  Children shrieking on a plane.  Children shrieking AT ALL.  I cannot handle it.  It seriously gets me headed towards a meltdown myself, and I just cannot take it.  To me, children crying ARE an annoyance, and always HAVE been an annoyance.  That has not suddenly changed simply because I’m a twitchy.

Why is it that I’m supposed to be more tolerant of things I find obnoxious just because I’ve got a disability?  Understanding and having experienced intolerance does NOT exempt me from feeling annoyance, or dislike, or hatred, or anger.  It does NOT make me more noble than anybody else.  It does NOT make me a superior human being.

Quite frankly, I find people that think this way to be pretty insulting.  Using a person’s disability to dismiss their preferences as a person is just….well, it’s not quite reprehensible, and it’s not quite appalling, but it sure is effing stupid.

I’m a person, damn it, and I am ALLOWED to have negative feelings!

Flail on,
-Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on June 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

