The hardest part of being a twitchy

I got asked this once.  What’s the hardest part about having Tourette’s?

Well, I have to say that the pain sucks, and the weird looks suck, and the twitching itself sucks….but I have adapted to all of those things with little issue.  The hardest thing I’ve faced as a twitchy has actually been the fatigue.

It is truly exhausting having TS.  My muscles are always fatigued, and when I sleep, and my tics are particularly bad that night, I wake up as if I’ve not slept at all.  I often wake up as tired as when I went to bed, and my muscles in my legs are often weak, which is what gives me such an issue standing in the morning.  I have started to consider talking to my doctor for some sleep aids to use every now and again, so I can actually regenerate as I’m supposed to.

Another issue with not getting a restful sleep in general, is that my tics will often wake me up, so I have a lot of start/stop nights in terms of getting any rest.  Just waking up is tiring (and annoying).  It makes for a crabby and snappy twitchy in the morning.

Lack of sleep is definitely a reason I wish I could quit flailing sometimes.

But since I can’t, I hope you all will continue to do as me, and flail on.
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on June 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

