PC I Ain’t

I often refer to myself and others with TS as “twitchies”.  Now, this isn’t particularly PC, but I’ve never been one to care really.  I think it takes too long to say “I have Tourette’s Syndrome” and I never say “I suffer from Tourette’s Syndrome” (I feel it implies that I am helpless and terribly unhappy, and constantly miserable).

For people that have not met me before, if they see me twitching and they’re staring (as people are wont to do), I’ll say “Don’t mind me, it’s just a little Tourette’s!”  And they stare at me (as is usual) and then they say “You do not!” to which I must reply “I am indeed, a twitchy.”

Now, I have to be honest…I don’t think I actually REALIZED I was referring to myself as a “twitchy” until I began this blog, nor did I refer to anybody else with Tourette’s as a twitchy until I began this blog.  While I was writing, it just seemed to fit with what I was going for, and thus, people with Tourette’s are (at least to me) twitchies.  I do not know if this is a common term (I could look), but I will say that I personally do not find it derogatory.

Because I do not know other twitchies, I cannot say whether I am insulting someone or not.  I can say that if they are insulted by being referred to as a twitchy, I think they take themselves a bit too seriously.  I mean really, would you like to constantly say “I’m afflicted with a neurological disorder that affects my fine motor skills”?  I know I don’t care for it.

Sometimes just saying “Oh, I’m a twitchy!” is faster.

I don’t like to be referred to as African American either.  I’m black.  I was born in Georgia for fuck’s sake.  COME ON!  White South Africans that have immigrated are definitely African American.  I’m just a black American, thank you.

So, if any of you reading this blog ever meet me, you’re welcome to refer to me as a twitchy.  I don’t know how anybody else would take it, but I definitely do not mind.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on May 5, 2011.

One Response to “PC I Ain’t”

  1. “I don’t like to be referred to as African American either. I’m black. I was born in Georgia for fuck’s sake. COME ON! White South Africans that have immigrated are definitely African American. I’m just a black American, thank you.”

    This. Ever since I was in French class and we were talking about Nigerian riots in France and people were slipping up and calling them African-Americans I came to realize the term actually means black people. These people were not African Americans. They were Nigerian French.

Leave a Reply

