The Chronicles of Ridic…ulousness

My posts have been a bit downbeat lately, and I find I’m always apologizing for something, and I feel the need to apologize for the former, but…I’m not going to.  The last 3 months have been highly stressful and unpleasant for me, and sometimes people just have a bad stretch of time, and that shouldn’t require apology.

The first anniversary of my brother’s death has passed, we are still dealing with issues regarding the house, and my husband left for North Carolina today to finish his military training.  In addition to that, I threw out my neck yesterday, and though I have some mobility back today (thanks to a massage from the husband), it is limited.  Throw an extremely tender neck on top of a new tic, and you’ve got a super bitchy twitchy.

And you’d think it would stop there…but it doesn’t.  And so, I need to put forth something that’s been sitting in my head for awhile, collecting dust and cobwebs because I refuse to clean out the attic and put the damn words on a page.

I had somebody that knows absolutely nothing about me accuse me of having a fake service dog.  This person has stated all sorts of other nasty (untrue) things about me, the S being a fake working animal is something that really bothers me, and though I shouldn’t have to explain this, I’m going to, as I’m sure other people have questions.

Do I show dogs?  Yes.  Do I show them with consistency?  No, not really.  Do I show them with a plan in mind?  Yes.

As mentioned before, (my) Tourette’s is affected by temperature and stress.  You will find me exhibiting dogs in fall and winter more than you will in spring and summer.  The heat makes the twitching worse, and I am much more likely to collapse while I am walking or running.  I have fallen at shows and gotten some nasty scrapes.  I’ll be sailing around the ring with what seems like little trouble (and let me be honest with you…even though I don’t look like I’m working hard…I am FIGHTING to stay up right), and the next moment I have taken an epic prat fall.

My daily life is affected (and quite severely more often than not) by the TS.  I have fallen down the stairs on more than one occasion.  I have fallen just getting out of bed.  I have had some REALLY close calls with kitchen knives while cooking, and if there are hard vegetables that need to be chopped (like sweet potatoes), I ask J to chop them for me instead.

My reach is limited, and reaching for things above me usually doesn’t work out so well (I hurt myself more).  Bending over?  If I try to pick something up, I’ll usually drop to a knee and then stand back up (which doesn’t always work).  I do not bend over because the range of motion in my neck is limited, and looking up, down, or sideways causes me pain and/or makes me dizzy.

Do I drive?  Yes I do.  Do I drive often?  No, I don’t.  And I have to plan my day around the severity of my tics that day.  I try and run all of my errands at once, so I only have to make one trip out.  I do not drive long distances unless I absolutely HAVE to because generally I cannot do it by myself.  If I do have to go alone, I stop frequently and those stops can last anywhere from 5 minutes to a couple of hours, because my body needs time to calm down.

S does so many things for me that I honestly could not do without him at this point in my life….and M will be doing even more.

What does S do?  He acts as a brace to catch me when I stumble.  He is taught to pull, because I have a tendency to fall backwards, not forwards when my legs go out.  He helps me get up if I DO fall.  He is taught to lean into me  (oppositional reflex) on days when I’m leaning too much to one side due to fatigue.

M will be doing all of that as well as picking up objects I drop, retrieving items I need that I may not be able to reach, fetching help (if I’ve fallen somewhere) and retrieving certain items by name (like my wallet, or a portable phone if I’m bedridden).

Because TS can and does change over the course of an individual’s life, it is quite possible that one day I will not need a service dog anymore.  And when/if that day comes, if I have a current SD, they will do what every other dog does.  They’ll retire to the touch as a thank you for their service.

Something that is very, very important to remember always, is that whenever you see a person with an SD, you cannot assume because there is nothing visibly wrong with them at that moment, that there’s nothing wrong with them at all.  I take SD laws very seriously, and researched upside down and backwards before training and working my very first SD….and even then, I still had to be convinced.

Without S, I wouldn’t have the independence that I do.  I’m grateful the the “normal” days I have, but without that dog, well, I don’t think I’d get to have as many productive days as I do.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on April 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

