Well it’s not like you have….

Cancer
Cerebral Palsy
Huntington’s
Lou Gherig’s Disease
Fibromyalgia

All of the above are horrible diseases.  There is no denying or avoiding that very sad fact.

Today’s post, however, kind of ties in with the post I made about somebody’s anger not being valid, simply because it makes others uncomfortable.  That’s right.  This is another “Things that piss me off!” post.

The thing that pisses me off about the above is that the people that often spout the basic “Kids in starving Africa would LOVE to eat this!” crap, seem to think that it has ANYTHING to do with the person they are speaking to at the time (it does not…it’s a really sad attempt at making somebody feel bad).  Pointing out that somebody else may have it “worse” than the person with TS (in this case) is so….OBNOXIOUS!

How do YOU know that cancer is worse than Tourette’s?  Have you had cancer?  If the answer is yes, then I’m very sorry for what you went through, but I am also glad you are still around.  However, unless you ALSO have Tourette’s, please shut your mouth.  You have NO basis for comparison.  None.  Zip.  Nada.  Zilch. Cero.

What is “worse” than one thing or another is entirely subjective.  You cannot know if something is more awful than another thing unless you have experienced both.  And on top of that, one thing being worse than another will then only hold true for YOU, because it is literally impossible for you to have the same experience as somebody else.

Somebody may share the same ailment as you, but the way they deal with it, the way they perceive it, the support system they may have, will be entirely different from your own experience.  They can share their stories with you, and you will understand “where they are coming from”, but neither of you can claim that you had it worse than the other one (and I dare say either of you would be insulted if that claim were made).

Tourette’s causes me daily pain.  Some days it is absolutely EXCRUTIATING, and other days I can run and skip and do all the things I did when I was little.  Some people never get to run at all, since they are born with legs that don’t work, or a spine that cannot support them.  I do not think they are worse off than I am, nor do I think I am worse off than they are.

Hell, I bet you anything there’s a person in a wheelchair somewhere that has pitied me because they see me out and about with my service dog, and thus I obviously have no independence, even though I don’t use a chair.  I bet you there’s another person in the world that’s, say, blind, and they think they have it worse than I do, because they are unable to see the faces of people they love, and they often hurt themselves in new situations because they do not know the layout of where they are.

So who has it better, and who has it worse?  Who “needs” to be pitied, and who needs to be “grateful that they don’t have x”?

Many may find this to be a bit of a quandry, but personally I’ll just continue to flail on, knowing that I am not better, nor worse.
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on March 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

