The repercussion of the twitchy twitchies

I’ve been going to physical therapy for about 3 weeks now, and I have to say that the change I’ve experienced has been welcome and dramatic.

At my first appointment, the therapist took some measurements of my range of motion, and my rotation to the right was 90 degrees, while my rotation to the left was 50 degrees.  Though I still experience (and will always experience) pain in my neck and upper back, my range of motion to the left is now almost equal to the range of motion to the right (when I turn my head)!  I can now almost touch my left ear to my left shoulder, whereas at my first appointment I was no where near that.  In fact, it really just looked like I was trying to get water out of my ears.

This is a big deal to me considering that some days I don’t drive not because I’m all flaily, but because I cannot turn my head, which means I cannot safely change lanes on the road.  I have even had to use my husband as my eyes so I could make a lane change because my range of motion was so incredibly limited.

Thanks to stretches, I have regained a good deal of motion, as well as strength in my left side.  I am realistic though, and physical therapy for me is about lessening my pain and maintaining my strength.  It is not possible for me to eradicate it completely.  This is why the next service dog will be taught to do more than my current dog does (and my current dog does not do as much as the next dog will simply because I didn’t need him to at the time).

The new dog will be taught to pick things up for me, in addition to the brace and mobility work, and will be taught to do a bit of guide work as well.  Even though I am sighted, my sight is often times limited due to the aforementioned issue.  I can see straight ahead, but not to my left, and I need the dog to tell me what may be in my way.

For the most part though, I am very happy with the progress that has been made, and I’m hoping the improvements continue.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

 

~ by ClassicalSpazz on March 1, 2011.

2 Responses to “The repercussion of the twitchy twitchies”

  1. W00t! I’m glad the PT is helping!

  2. I’m SO GLAD you are doing so well! That’s AWESOME!

    Hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

