Would you PLEASE stop doing that!

Clearly writing this blog every day is a no go.  At least for now.  Right now J and I are preparing for some major changes in our lives, and are trying to get our shit together (no, I am NOT knocked up).

This past weekend we were up in Pennsylvania house shopping (I do believe we found a place!!!), and returned at 10 PM on Saturday night.  Sunday morning we woke up and drove 3 hours to Chesapeake, VA to help our herding instructor clean up her place and have a lesson for M.

So, that’s basically why I didn’t blog all last week.

This week’s topic is to all the people out there that turn around, glare at me, and insist I quit doing something that I cannot control.

Pick a tic.  Any tic.  I can’t help it. It ain’t gonna stop.

Children with TS are often noted to have “behavioral issues”.  Because they cannot control their bodies or their voices, they may be in the midst of a bad round of spazzing, and the teacher will say “Jimmy, please quit hitting your desk” or “Tina, please stop quacking, you’re not a ducky”.

It can actually be very damaging to a child, because eventually the teacher decides that the child is simply being obstinate and disrespectful, and the “Please” soon becomes “STOP that this INSTANT!  WHY do you feel the need to DISRUPT the rest of the class?!”

Hello, time out corner.
Goodbye, dignity.

When I was in the second grade, I had an art teacher, Mr. J, who I had a little bit of a crush on.  He was very kind (much kinder than the first art teacher, who yelled at me all the time), and did have a wonderful talent for art (I did not and still do not).

One day, he had us all gathered around him at a table, so he could show us how to glaze pottery.  On that particular day, my vocal tics were bad, and I couldn’t quit wheezing.  He turned his head, glared at me, and said “Would you please stop doing that?”

It embarrassed me, and broke my heart a little.

I took a step back from the group, and didn’t much feel like participating anymore.

The reason I bring this up is not because I am still angry about it, but to bring to light how profound a moment that was for me.  How many other children (and adults) with TS respond to the seemingly volatile vitriol that an adult can put on a child.  Please note I say SEEMINGLY volatile.  Nothing terribly harsh or mean is meant, most likely, but when a child has been through 3 or 4 other classes that day, and has been scolded several times already, it cuts that much deeper.

That happened to me almost 20 years ago, and I still remember it.  How it stung, and how my face burned because I was “singled out”.

If a child has behavioral problems, I would urge parents to study their child more, look deeper.  Is your kid just a brat (they do still exist, not everybody has ADD), or is there something ELSE going on?  Make a couple appointments if you need to with whomever you deem necessary.  Just…LOOK.

That’s all I’m asking.  Just look.  Whether it is TS, ADD/ADHD, or some other sort of disorder, or nothing at all.  Be INVOLVED, and do not just pass it off as “just being a kid”.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on February 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

