So you’re crazy?

Let  me tell you straight away that the number of times I have been called crazy is too many to count.  Many of them have been in jest, some not so much.

However, it is important for me to note that Tourette’s Syndrome is a neurological disorder, not a psychological disorder.  TS affects motor and vocal functions through the brain and central nervous system, meaning that movements that occur (tics) are involuntary actions caused by “misfirings” that do not allow the nervous system and brain to communicate with each other properly.

This differs from psychological disorders like schizophrenia or depression, as these two problems are caused by chemical imbalances within the brain and ONLY the brain.  Depression is often seen in people with TS (and I will admit that I do suffer from depression).  TS is also seen in people that have ADD/ADHD and/or OCD.

There is some speculation that TS may be a mild seizure disorder, though there has not been any conclusive evidence of this yet.

Now, back to the original “question”.  Am I crazy?  No.  No more than anybody else.  I do struggle with my depression, and I WILL say that I definitely suffer from it.  I do not suffer from TS, though it is annoying many does, and even though I used a service dog to help me because of the problems TS  can cause, I find the depression to be more crippling by far.  No question.

It is an important thing to make the distinction between neurological and psychological disorders.  Though the neurological troubles of TS can cause spasms, flailings, and screams of inappropriate expletives, it does not affect my personality, sense of humor, or likes and dislikes.  Depression on the other hand will force me into a very dark, subdued mood.  There is no humor, and all my likes become “hates”.

And even then, people with psychological disorders, though “crazy” by social definition, are still people.  Still human.  They need help just like anybody else does.  Crazy does not mean inhuman, just as my tics do not make me inhuman.

Keep that in mind.

Flail on,
– Classical Spazz

 

~ by ClassicalSpazz on February 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

