Well you’re not doing it NOW!

There is a common misconception that people with TS NEVER stop twitching.  This is a belief I once held myself, and because of it, I doubted that TS was my issue (even after my diagnosis).  However, it has been discovered that when a person with TS is completely absorbed in a task, tics may be “suspended” for a period of time.

A good example for me is when I play the piano.  Particularly when I’m learning a new piece or am composing something.  My brain is working so hard to focus on what I’m doing (and what I’m doing requires a good deal of fine motor skills), it is not possible for me to display my tics.  It’s kinda like how people that have a stutter cannot stutter while they sing.  The activity of singing interrupts the neurological disruption that causes the stutter.

There are also situations in which my tics will decrease significantly.  Though they do not stop entirely, they become nearly imperceptible.  Dogs shows are a good example of this.  My facial tics still persist, but with less frequency.  However, the longer I am at the show, and the more dogs I have to exhibit, the sooner my “reprieve” wears off.  By the end of the day, my legs are a twitchy mess and I’ve got a headache from all the face scrunching.  However, I generally consider exhibiting my dogs to be worth it, as it is a few hours of a break from the norm.

It is important for me to note that the lessening or stopping of my muscle spasms is NOT conscious.  If it were, I’d make them stop all the time.  The fact that the tics stop is completely involuntary, and has to do with my brain being so preoccupied by another endeavor, that it is impossible for me to twitch.

Weird ain’t it?

Ah well, what can you do, right?

Flail on my people,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on February 4, 2011.

One Response to “Well you’re not doing it NOW!”

  1. I’ve always kinda wondered how you handled showing. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

