Who’s driving Miss Daisy?

The answer is nobody.  Firstly because I am not an 72 year old white Jewish woman, and secondly, because I don’t need somebody to drive me around.

It is true that I struggle with temperatures and that my tics can be quite severe in certain circumstances, but over the last couple of years I have learned how to set my van’s temperature controls so I can drive safely.  I tend to drive in a warm car (even though I hate the heat) to pull back the significant tics (the ones that cause actual whipping of my arms).  The smaller, more frequent tics are incredibly annoying, but they pose less of a danger while I drive.

Please note, I NEVER drive if my tics are so severe that I cannot stop hard blinking or jaw wrenching.  Nor will I drive if I’m having a day where my arms won’t quit flailing around as if I were Kermit the Frog tripping on acid.  I’ve called into work because of this problem and I have missed school because of it.  It is frustrating, but does not happen often.

If I’m having a really bad day and I need help, I will ask for it (begrudgingly), but like anybody else with such an issue, it is still possible for me to drive.  I’m actually pretty self sufficient!  I know, it’s hard to believe, but I can cart myself around (and Daisy could have too, if she’d bothered to get off her duff and do it).

Flail on, my loyal readers,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

