Hey! It’s HER!

My husband graduated from TBS (The Basic School) Quantico today, and is now officially an Officer in the United States Marine Corps.  Super yay, right?  Right!  However, since this post isn’t about him, that’s really just a lead up to what the last couple of days have been like (and why I did not post yesterday, very sorry).

Yesterday was Warrior Day, which involves family members meeting up at the base so their Marines can show them what they’ve been learning for the last 6 months (they can also show off the cool equipment and weapons they got to play with).  There were a lot of outdoor activities planned, but due to weather, they were canceled.  Even so, I brought my service dog, S with me.

Now, the thing about having a service dog, especially when you do not have a disability that is particularly visible (since the severity of tics will wax and wane throughout the day), is that “you” become more interesting.  When I say “you”, what it really means is the dog.  Everybody notices the dog, wants to pet the dog, wants to talk to the dog (he’s working, please don’t).  Having a dog results in people saying all sorts of amusing things, or sparks conversations.  It also makes you a random local “celebrity” of sorts.

Case in point, tonight after my husband’s “graduation” (that is a whole different spazz inducing discussion), we went out to dinner with his parents at the Outback Steakhouse (AWESOME Ribs).  While we were finishing our meal, a fellow Marine my husband knew was being seated with his wife and children.  The children of the aforementioned officer had been sitting next to S and I with their mother during the graduation ceremony, and they were quite enamored with him.  They wanted to pet him, but I told them why they could not, and they were actually very respectful.

As we got up to leave, I called S out from under the table, and all of a sudden I hear “Hey!  It’s HER!”, and the next thing I know there is a child zipping over to us.  I did tell my dog to back up (to avoid the possible onslaught), but the child stopped and said “Is he still on work?”  I told him yes, and he seemed sort of bummed, but still stared wide eyed at S, ignoring the pleas of his parents trying to get him to sit back down and let us be.

Now, I have to say that while overall I struggle interacting with children, I enjoy the ones like this little boy, because even though he was a bit too forward, he reminded me very much of many people with Tourette’s.  He is still too young to have a “filter” (meaning he cannot understand why he should not say certain things, and thus just says whatever he has on his mind), and in that regard, things come out of his mouth that are unintentionally offensive.

The difference between him and someone like me, is that because he lacks the consciousness to feel embarrassed or ashamed of what he said, he doesn’t feel the following emotions of guilt or regret.  It’s a vocal tic of innocence.  Sometimes a little reminder like that helps me know that even though I DO have a filter (sort of), when I curse aloud in polite company, or kick somebody under a table, my brain is feeling that it NEEDS to do that, and I am not doing it just for the sake of being offensive or obnoxious.

So, bless you my little soldiers of the Faux Tourette’s.  Do continue to flail on, while you still can.
– Classical Spaz

 

 

 

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Hey! It’s HER!”

  1. Awesome post! I love when kids are in the “pre-internal filter” age and I love even more that the kid was raised well enough to be respectful of you and not touch your dog even though I know he desperately wanted to.

    • Thank you! What I have to say I REALLY liked about this child, is that he actually addressed me, and kept his attention on me even though he was asking about the dog. Many kids talk to me, but continue to watch the dog, lol.

Leave a Reply

