So, do you guys have some sort of club?

I have been a minority my entire life (I am black), and so am quite used to people imposing their stereotypes on me.  Stereotypes like knowing how to speak ebonics….just because I am black.  I don’t.  In fact, the only words I know are “fo shizzle, my nizzle” and that’s only because people kept saying it long after it was even relevant.  I don’t even know what it means.

I automatically have a good sense of internal rhythm.  That one is actually true, but I attribute that more to that fact that historically, African people are deeply rooted in a long tradition of chanting, singing, and playing musical instruments (such as drums) for various reasons.  Things like warding off evil spirits, ceremonies, or trying to keep their spirits up while Massa watches them pick cotton from his fine plantation home window.  Without a sense of rhythm, music isn’t possible.  It’s genetics.

Here’s a favorite of mine.  I will automatically be ok with being called “nigger/nigga” because I am black.  I am not ok with it.  Not because I’m offended, but because it sounds stupid.  There’s no reason for it.  I have a real name.

All that said, I do not seek out other people with Tourette’s any more than I intentionally seek out black people to be friends with.  If I end up with a twitchy friend, great!  If I end up with a black friend, great!  If I end up with a twitchy black friend, that would just plain be AMAZING!  But I don’t feel the need to actively look for others “like me”.

I actually only “know” one other person with Tourette’s, and he’s back in my hometown in Wisconsin.  He’s a few years older than me, has a much more severe case than I do, and I can admit that I don’t remember his name.  You know where I met him?  At my job, working at a gas station.  He just happened to come in one day and I noticed his teeth gnashing and his finger pointing, and his heavy shoulder shrugging.  We did get to know each other better, and when we had time, we would talk about our ailment, but we never became fast friends.  The only thing we had in common was that we both had Tourette’s.

I swear on all that is stable and stationary, that we do NOT have some secret society where we all get together and plot to change the trajectory of the Earth by whipping our arms in the same direction.  For one thing, there aren’t enough of us for that.  For another, the pandemonium that would result due to constant interjections of the coprolaliacs and the frequent yells of “OW!  DAMN IT!” due to everybody being beaten thanks to all the flailing just wouldn’t be worth it.

Maybe there’s some sort of Tourette’s Syndrome consortium out there, or an annual convention.  If there is, maybe I’ll check it out (certainly would be interesting at the very least), but if there are any “clubs” out there, I’d wager more of them are support groups than anything that involves any sort of actual fun.

All in favor of ending today’s blog, say “Aye!”

“Damn!”
“Ow!”
*random shriek*
“Yarba yarba yarba!”
*Hair pull gut punch*

Great!  We are adjourned!  Flail on!
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 23, 2011.

One Response to “So, do you guys have some sort of club?”

  1. It cracks me up when black people call other black people nigger.

Leave a Reply

