Twitchy and Bitchy

The last couple of days haven’t resulted in much content for the blog, and for that I apologize.  I have been incredibly tired, and it is all due to the wonders of twitching myself awake for the past week.  Between my husband graduating from his basic training next week, the stress of all the military functions I must attend, and making the futile attempt to find a new house for us to rent with our dogs, sleep has not come in any consistent manner.

As I’ve mentioned before, stress can exacerbate tics, as can temperature, add in pain that is caused by constant muscle spasms, and you have a trifecta of  “The hell if you’re gonna sleep tonight!”

My husband, J, is practically a human furnace, and thus I will be forced out of sleep by the fact that I am extremely hot (to the point of sweating).  Well, now I’m awake and sweltering, and thus my facial tics (my upper body in general) cannot quiet themselves.  I try to lay back down, but the pain that has resulted due to constant contractions in my shoulders, neck, and back makes it highly uncomfortable to sleep.  Could I take some pain killers?  Yes.  The problem with pain killers is that they are a temporary solution to an apparently permanent problem.  In addition to that, when the pain killers wear off, I end up hurting “worse”.  The intensity of the pain realistically is the same, because I had a medicinal reprieve from it, it feels worse than it initially was.

While it is true that TS can cause disruption in every day life, since it is a matter of normalcy for me, the disruption usually only occurs  if I am in a social setting.  But when the disruption of my life is in regards to me attempting to rejuvenate myself after a long  show weekend, or a night out with military wives, well damn it, it pisses me off!

Probably the only time where my “bitchy” is in fact related to my “twitchy”.

Maybe one day without the epic flail would be nice.

As always, flail on,
– Classical Spazz

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 20, 2011.

One Response to “Twitchy and Bitchy”

  1. Good job regarding painkillers. They can lead to many prpblems, and like you said, are only a temp solution.

Leave a Reply

