The “Did you know?” post!

Thus far, this blog has focused more on me and my experience with TS than it has on the TS itself.  There’s nothing wrong with that, of course (it seems to help people understand me a bit better), but I thought today I’d try and share (as well as explain) certain things about the disorder itself.

Firstly, while many tics are truly involuntary, others are involuntary in a roundabout sort of way.  Before certain tics occur, a person actually feel the tic coming (much like feeling the approach of a hiccup), and they feel compelled to let the tic out.  It’s almost like OCD.  You don’t want to do it, but you have to.  My neck roll is like that.  I don’t want to, but I HAVE to.  And so it occurs.

The onset symptoms of the disorder generally appear before the age of 18.  While I cannot remember anything prior to age 5, I do know that I was doing the neck roll as well as exhibiting vocal tics at that time.

And the idea that ALL people with Tourette’s uncontrollably shout curse words?  Totally false.  It’s called coprolalia, and it is actually relatively uncommon.  This issue manifests in less than 30% of those of us with Tourette’s.  It is widely noted simply because it’s so incredibly inappropriate, embarrassing, and awkward.  People that can’t control their curse words are interesting.  People that punch themselves in the gut, not so much.

I know, disappointing, right?

Time for this twitchy spazz to sign off for the evening, as animals demand potty breaks and an achy body demands a heating pad.

Flail on, my brethren,
– Classical Spazz

 

~ by ClassicalSpazz on January 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

